Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

Awarded for the first time in 1991, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction has recognized compelling books ranging from memoirs to biographies to a personal account of Canadians at War. Many of the recipients have gone on to be highly renowned and well-recognized members of Canada's impressive literary scene.


  • 2019: Kate Harris, Land of Lost Borders
  • 2018: Pauline Dakin, Run, Hide, Repeat: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood
  • 2017: Sonja Larsen, Red Star Tattoo
  • 2016: Ann Walmsley, The Prison Book Club
  • 2015: Lynn Thomson, Birding with Yeats: A Memoir
  • 2014: Arno Kopecky, The Oil Man and the Sea
  • 2013: Carol Shaben, Into the Abyss
  • 2012: Joshua Knelman, Hot Art
  • 2011: Helen Waldstein Wilkes, Letters from the Lost
  • 2010: John Leigh Walters, A Very Capable Life


  • 2009: Russell Wangersky, Burning Down the House
  • 2008: Bruce Serafin, Stardust
  • 2007: Linden MacIntyre, Causeway
  • 2006: Francis Chalifour, After
  • 2005: Anne Coleman, I'll Tell you a Secret
  • 2004: Andrea Curtis, Into the Blue
  • 2003: Alison Watt, The Last Island
  • 2002: Tom Allen, Rolling Home
  • 2001: Taras Grescoe, Sacré Blues
  • 2000: Wayson Choy, Paper Shadows


  • 1999: Michael Poole, Romancing Mary Jane
  • 1998: Charlotte Gray, Mrs. King
  • 1997: Anne Mullens, Timely Death
  • 1996: George G. Blackburn, The Guns of Normandy
  • 1995: Denise Chong, The Concubine's Children
  • 1994: Linda Johns, Sharing a Robin's Life
  • 1993: Liza Potvin, White Lies (For my Mother)
  • 1993: Elizabeth Hay, The Only Snow in Havana
  • 1992: Marie Wadden, Nitassinan
  • 1991: Susan Mayse, Ginger

Contact Us:

Award for Creative Non-Fiction

T: 519.884.1970 x3361

Writer-in-Residence Program

T: 519.884.0710 x4669


We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.