Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

The Laurier Graduate Student Investment Fund (LGSIF) is an investment fund for graduate students at Wilfrid Laurier University. The daily operation of this fund will be monitored by faculty members and governed by Laurier policies.

Please see our meeting schedules and memberships page to learn more about how to become involved with the LGSIF.


LGSIF is a value-oriented investment fund on small cap stocks. The investment decisions are based on thorough fundamental analysis.


In the fall of 2016, a group of six Master of Finance students came up with the idea to create a graduate student investment fund to gain hands-on experience in making investment decisions and managing a fund. A partnership was created with the university and faculty members and the Laurier Graduate Student Investment Fund was created. The six founding members raised $17,852 seed investment capital. The dean of the Lazaridis School of Business and Economics provided additional $15,000 capital for the fund.

University Partners

Faculty Advisor

Faculty Advisory Board Members

Alumni Advisory Board Members

  • Michelle Lennox, AVP, Head of Business Planning and Analysis, Manulife
  • Harrison Nie, Manager, Trading Floor Risk Management, Scotiabank
  • Hamir Patel, Director, Equity Research-Paper and Forest Products, CIBC Capital Markets
Michael Lee-Chin speaking to students

Voices of Experience

Canadian investment magnate, Michael Lee-Chin presents his best advice on creating a winning portfolio to LGSIF members.

Contact Us:

Chau Truong-Wood, Program Coordinator

T: 519.884.0710 x3013

Important Dates and Events

  • Application Deadline Aug 15, 2020


We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.