Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Being a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.


WATERLOO – U.S. retailer Target announced it would remove gender-based signage in its toys, home and entertainment departments to address changes in customer needs.

The following Laurier experts are available to comment on gender-based signage:

Children’s Culture and Media

  • Lisa Wood, associate professor in Laurier’s Youth and Children's Studies program, is an expert in children’s popular culture and media. Contact information: lwood@wlu.ca.
  • Sue Ferguson, associate professor in Laurier’s Digital Media and Journalism program, is an expert in children’s culture and the media. Contact information: sferguson@wlu.ca.
  • Tarah Brookfield, associate professor in Laurier’s History and Youth & Children's Studies program, is an expert on children’s history and the media. Contact information: 519-756-8228 x5792 or at tbrookfield@wlu.ca.

Transgender Identity

  • Patricia Elliot, professor in Laurier’s Sociology and Cultural Analysis and Social Theory program, is an expert in gender, transgender, psychoanalysis and feminism. She is the author of Debates in Transgender, Queer and Feminist Theory. Contact information: pelliot@wlu.ca.

Corporate Social Responsibility

  • Ivona Hideg, assistant professor in Laurier’s School of Business and Economics, is an expert in the promotion of corporate gender equality and cultural diversity practices, as well as corporate social responsibility. Contact information: ihideg@wlu.ca.

Women and Gender

  • Margaret E. Toye, associate professor in Laurier’s Women and Gender Studies program, is an expert on feminist theory, feminist ethics and gender and consumption. Contact information: 519-884-0710 x2010 or at mtoye@wlu.ca.

– 30 –

MEDIA CONTACT:

Kevin Crowley, Director
Communications & Public Affairs
Wilfrid Laurier University

T: 519.884.0710 x3070

E: kcrowley@wlu.ca

×

We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.

×