Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

March 11, 2015

Print | PDF

March 11, 2015
For Immediate Release

WATERLOO – Wilfrid Laurier University is seeking submissions for the 2015 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, a $10,000 literary award that recognizes excellence in Canadian creative non-fiction.

Designed to encourage new Canadian talent, the award is open to authors who have published a first or second book with a Canadian locale and/or significance. The 2015 award is open to works published in the 2014 calendar year and distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing and a creative use of language or approach to the subject matter.

Entries must be received by Wednesday, April 1, 2015 to be considered. To obtain an entry form and a complete list of submission guidelines, please visit

The shortlist and winner will be announced in the early fall. The author will be presented with the award and make appearances at Laurier’s Waterloo and Brantford campuses in the fall.

Arno Kopecky won the 2014 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for The Oil Man and the Sea: Navigating the Northern Gateway (Douglas & McIntyre). In The Oil Man and the Sea, Kopecky, along with photographer Ilja Herb, spends 12 weeks sailing the treacherous coastal passages of the Great Bear Rainforest, slated to become a busy oil tanker route for the proposed Northern Gateway pipeline, which would transport bitumen from the Alberta oil sands to the British Columbia coast. Along the way, the novice sailors spend time with local residents, including many First Nations members, listening to their concerns about the pipeline and how it will affect their way of life, and the rainforest’s fragile ecosystem.

Other winners of the Edna Staebler Award include authors Carol Shaben, Linden MacIntyre, Wayson Choy and Elizabeth Hay.

About the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Established and endowed by writer and award-winning journalist Edna Staebler, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is administered by Wilfrid Laurier University, the only university in Canada to bestow a nationally recognized literary award. The $10,000 award encourages and recognizes Canadian writers for a first or second work of creative non-fiction that includes a Canadian locale and/or significance. The award was established in 1991.

– 30 –


Cathy Mahler, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Arts
Wilfrid Laurier University

T: 519.884.0710 x3361


Kevin Crowley, Director
Communications & Public Affairs
Wilfrid Laurier University

T: 519.884.0710 x3070



We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.