Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

Print | PDF

Two distinguished Lazaridis EMTM alumni were recognized for their achievements this fall.

On Sept. 30, Jennifer Smith (MSc ’12), was awarded the Steve Farlow Entrepreneurship and Innovation Award at the Lazaridis School Alumni Awards. This award recognizes those who have demonstrated innovation to achieve a new level of growth within an entrepreneurial organization. The individual must also demonstrate community and industry leadership. Jennifer was recognised for her accomplishments at Christie Digital Systems where she was the Executive Vice President, Global Market Solutions and Engineering. Jennifer’s accomplishments at Christie Digital include growing a new display category (fine pitch LED) from zero to $7 million in the first year and being on-target for doubling growth again to $15 million for the second year. She is also an active Communitech Board Member, a passionate advocate for women in STEM and an ambassador for the Lazaridis EMTM program.

Jeff Aramini (MSc ’17) was awarded the Medal for Academic Excellence — Master's in recognition of outstanding graduate work. Jeff is the president of Focus 21 Inc., a software firm that specializes in partnering with science and technology-based organizations to develop cutting-edge and first-of-its kind information solutions. Jeff was not only the top of his graduating class, but his white paper for TM725 was so well-researched and well-written that faculty elected to use his paper for the basis for adding a new topic to the course. He is also a dedicated life-long learner, having previously completed a PhD and MSc in Health Studies, a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and a BS in Biology.

Congratulations to our Lazaridis EMTM alumni for their excellent achievements.


We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.