Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Science
April 18, 2014
 
 
Canadian Excellence

Medal(reduced)

Faculty Research Interests



MSc in Integrative Biology 

 If you are considering applying to the program, you should contact one or more faculty members who might serve as your thesis supervisor. Below we list all of the members of the program and their research interests with links to their web pages and their email contacts.

 Name

Research Interests 

 Email

Jennifer Baltzer
 Comparative tree biology and responses of forests to global change
jbaltzer@wlu.ca
Mihai Costea
 Systematics, biodiversity and biogeography of angiosperms
mcostea@wlu.ca
Stephanie DeWitte-Orr
Investigating innate immune responses to virus infections with a focus on dsRNA-mediated responses
sdewitteorr@wlu.ca
Frédérique Guinel
 Development and hormonal regulation of root symbiosis fguinel@wlu.ca
Lucy Lee
 Development of cell lines and non-invasive diagnostic techniques to monitor health of aquatic organisms llee@wlu.ca
Tristan Long Sexual selection and conflict, genetics of behaviour and speciation

tlong@wlu.ca

Deborah MacLatchy  Determining source, identity, and mechanisms of action of anthropogenic contaminants on fish reproduction, development and growth

dmaclatchy@wlu.ca

Allison McDonald Environmental stress physiology and biochemistry; role of terminal oxidases in respiration and photosynthesis amcdonald@wlu.ca
Jim McGeer
Stress physiology of aquatic animals; environmental toxicology and risk assessment of metals jmcgeer@wlu.ca
Gabriel Moreno-Hagelsieb
Comparative and functional genomics; stability and evolution of genetic functional modules gmoreno@wlu.ca
Scott Ramsay
 Reproductive ecology of songbirds
sramsay@wlu.ca
Jane Rutherford
 Factors affecting the structure of benthic invertebrate communities in streams jrutherf@wlu.ca
Robin Slawson
 Survival and persistence of natural populations of potential pathogens from surface waters rslawson@wlu.ca
Matthew Smith
 Mechanisms of protein targeting and import into chloroplasts msmith@wlu.ca
Kevin Stevens
 Wetland plant ecology: plant growth in wet areas
kestevens@wlu.ca
Joel Weadge
 Microbial glycobiology: Structure-function analysis of proteins that synthesize and export bacterial cellulose
jweadge@wlu.ca
Michael Wilkie
 Environmental physiology and toxicology of aquatic vertebrates
mwilkie@wlu.ca
Jonathan Mark Wilson
Fish molecular physiology with a focus on elucidating the mechanisms of ion regulation within evolutionary and environmental contexts.
jmwilson@wlu.ca


Give careful consideration to how your research interests match those of your prospective supervisor; if you are accepted into the program you will be committing to a two-year relationship in their lab. Consider making arrangements to come to Laurier to visit their lab and meet with their current students. Please be aware that individual faculty members may not be taking new students from time to time: for example, they may be going away on sabbatical or have no openings in their lab for the term when you are thinking of beginning.