Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Arts
April 1, 2015

Canadian Excellence


Faculty of Arts Teaching Scholar Award

The annual Faculty of Arts 'Teaching Scholar Award' recognizes the teaching excellence of our Arts faculty members and affirms the importance of teaching in the Faculty's distinctive mission.

The vital mission of a Faculty of Arts is to engage the next generation in the critical spirit, intellectual and creative attainments, and scholarly methods of our past, as well as new and emerging variations upon those academic traditions. Superb teaching and suberb scholarship are inextricably linked. Demonstrated excellence in emphasizing this connection is the central criterion for determining the recipient.

The Teaching Scholar Award honours a faculty member who integrates explicitly and creatively the professionís twin functions of scholarly research and teaching. The Award accordingly is granted to someone who has made successful efforts to identify and develop the pedagogical means by which this integration can be especially well achieved.

Click here for information about nominating a faculty member for the FOA Teaching Scholar Award

Faculty of Arts Teaching Scholar Award Recipients

2003: Dr. Cynthia Comacchio (History)

2004: Dr. Carol Duncan (Religion & Culture)

2005: Dr. David Docherty (Political Science)

2006: Dr. Dana Sawchuk (Sociology)

2007: Dr. Philippa Gates (English & Film Studies)

2008: Dr. George Urbaniak (History)

2009: Dr. Lynne Shakinovsky (English & Film Studies)

2010:†Dr. Karljurgen Feuerherm (Archaeology & Classical Studies)

2011: Dr. Paul Tiessen (English & Film Studies)

2012: Dr. John W. Schwieter (Languages & Literatures: Spanish & Linguistics)

2013: Dr. Sara Matthews (Global Studies)