Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Education
April 25, 2015
Canadian Excellence

Aboriginal Books/Stories

Birchbark Press

Order online:

Goodminds (Six Nations Territory, Ontario)

Shop in person, or online:

Rabbit and Bear Paws: Sacred Teachings and Lesson Plans

Rabbit and Bear Paws: Sacred Seven is a new comical picture books series based on the beloved characters from the Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws.  In this new series, Rabbit and Bear Paws “try” to understand the seven grandfather teachings from our Elder brothers and sisters: the animals  Eagle, Bear, Buffalo, Beaver, Mouse, Kitch-sabe (Big Foot) and Turtle.

Rabbit and Bear Paws: Sacred Seven series can be purchased online:

Follow along as Rabbit and Bear Paws observe and mimic the actions of the animals, and watch as they get into and out of all sorts of funny situations.

Lesson Plans:

Scholastic Books: Aboriginal Stories

Extensive list now available through Scholastic

Strong Nations: We Bring Indigenous Books into Your Lives

Residential Schools- Recommended reading and age ranges

An Aboriginal Carol- by David Bouchard

this is a video with David Bouchard narrating. By David Bouchard, Moses Beaver and Susan Aglukark