Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
May 24, 2016

Canadian Excellence

Institutional Awards

Wilfrid Laurier University has a variety of awards for teaching. Click on the links below for more information about the different awards.

The Fellowship enables Fellows to pursue an individual program of activities designed to enhance teaching quality and, as well, will establish a network of excellent teachers who will collaborate to promote teaching excellence and student success across the university community. They are responsible for developing teaching and learning initiatives within their home Faculties and for collaborating on university-wide projects.

Formerly known as the Outstanding Teacher Award, the WLU Award for Teaching Excellence honours faculty members who excel in teaching. New award categories recognize sustained excellence in teaching, teaching innovation and early career excellence. The award ispresented at convocation at which time a citation is read and the recipient honoured.

Previous recipients of this award.

Established in 2007, the Teaching Assistant Award of Excellence aims to recognize the outstanding achievement of a TA or IA at Laurier.

Previous recipients of this award.

This award recognizes the teaching excellence of Arts faculty members and affirms the importance of teaching in the Faculty's distinctive mission. The award includes a $1,000 donation in the winner's name. Applications are due to the Dean of Arts Office November of each year.

Introduced in 2016, the Faculty of Science Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes Science faculty who havedemonstrated excellence in teaching and demonstrated a commitment to student learning at Laurier.Up to two awards are granted each year: one for early career faculty, and one for established faculty.Recipients of the award will receive a framed certificate and will be recognized at the annual teachingawards ceremony.

The Hoffmann-Little Award is presented to a Laurier faculty member in recognition of excellence in teaching and professional endeavour. All current or former faculty are eligible for the Hoffmann-Little Award. This award is part of the Alumni Association's Awards of Excellence program.
Previous recipients of this award.

The Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes a faculty member for his/her outstanding mentorship and support to undergraduate student(s) and/or graduate student(s) while the student(s) are completing independent research as part of their degree requirements. This award is part of the Alumni Association's Awards of Excellence program.

Previous recipients of this award.