Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Being a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.


Nov. 9, 2017
For Immediate Release

Waterloo – Remembrance Day is Saturday, Nov. 11. Wilfrid Laurier University has a number of experts available to speak about the day, wartime history, war memorialization, peace and conflict, and related topics.

Wartime History

Mark Humphries, associate professor in Laurier’s Department of History, Dunkley Chair in War and the Canadian Experience and director at the Laurier Centre for Military Strategic and Disarmament Studies (LCMSDS), is an expert in Canadian military history, the First World War, and war, trauma and health. Contact: mhumphries@wlu.ca or 519.884.0710 x3309.

Cynthia Comacchio, professor in Laurier’s Department of History, is an expert on the sociocultural impact of war in Canada and veterans’ social reintegration after the First World War. She is also available for comment on war commemoration efforts, including memory and public memorialization. Contact: ccomacchio@wlu.ca or 519.884.0710 x3422.

Tarah Brookfield, associate professor in Laurier’s departments of Youth and Children’s Studies and History, is an expert on Canadian women’s political activism and child welfare work in the 20th century, particularly their mobilization for women’s rights and children’s safety during the World Wars and Cold War. Contact: tbrookfield@wlu.ca or 519.756.8228 x5792.

Kandace Bogaert, postdoctoral fellow at the Laurier Centre for Military, Strategic and Disarmament Studies in the Department of History, is an expert on Canadian veterans of the First World War and their experiences with psychiatric illness. Contact: kbogaert@wlu.ca.

Peace and Conflict

Edmund Pries, assistant professor in Laurier’s departments of Religion and Culture and Global Studies, is an expert on philosophies of war and peace, pacifism, military loyalty oaths, disarmament, and the relationship between religion, peace and conflict. Contact: epries@wlu.ca or 519.884.0710 x4593.

Timothy Donais, associate professor in Laurier’s Department of Global Studies, is an expert in peacebuilding, peace and conflict, and complex war-to-peace transitions. Contact: tdonais@wlu.ca or 519.200.3159 (mobile).

– 30 –

Media Contacts:

Kevin Crowley, Director

Communications and Public Affairs, Wilfrid Laurier University

E: kcrowley@wlu.ca
T: 519.884.0710 x3070

×

We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.

×