Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Science
September 17, 2014
Canadian Excellence

Years of Service Ceremony: Dr. Stephen Wenn (15 yrs); Dr. Peter Tiidus (20 yrs); Connie Palenik (25 yrs), Dr. Kim Dawson (15 yrs); Dr. Pam Bryden (10 yrs).

KPE Faculty News

The department of Kinesiology and Physical Education would like to keep the Laurier Community, and Alumni informed of news within the department.  Please read below for the most recent news:



New Faculty Members

Dr. Michael Cinelli joins the department.  He completed his PhD at UW and completed a post doc at Brown University in Rhode Island.  He specializes in  the study of neural processing and execution of skilled behaviours.

Dr. Jayne Kalmar joins the department.  She completed her PhD from York University and her post doc fellow at University of Manitoba.  She specializes in neuro-muscular and motor nerve research and uses both human and rodent models in her work.

Dr. Renee MacPhee joins the department on July 1, 2009 as a full-time faculty member.  She has worked on a limited-term appointment for several terms.   Her degrees earned are as follows:  BA Honours Psychology (Carlton), MA Gerontology (Waterloo), and PhD Health Studies and Gerontology (Waterloo).  Her research focuses primarily on the use of Emergency Departments (ED) and Emergency Medical Services (EMS) by the elderly.  Read more about Dr. MacPhee here.

Dr. Mark Eys joined the department on July 1, 2009 as a full-time faculty member.  Mark Eys (Ph.D.) is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Kinesiology/Physical Education and Psychology at Wilfrid Laurier University, and a Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Group Dynamics and Physical Activity. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Waterloo and his Masterís and Ph.D from The University of Western Ontario. 

Miscellaneous News

Dr. Stephen Perry is interviewed by Global TV on the Sole Sensor.  See interview, here

Dr. Stephen Wenn participates in prestigious Olympic lecture series. Read more here.

Dr. Mark Eys awarded Canada Research Chair.  Read more here.

Dr. William McTeer honoured with Teaching Award of Excellence.  Read more here.

Dr. Quincy Almeida receives local community recognition.  Read more here

Dr. Dawn Dalby CIHR recipient.  Read more here.

Dr. William McTeer honoured with Hoffman-Little Award.  Read more here