Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Vice President: Academic & Provost
July 24, 2014
Canadian Excellence

Program Overview

Perspectives on Academic Freedom



6 September 2012/ Waterloo Inn, Regent Room/ 475 King St. North/ Waterloo

7:00 - 8:00 am

 Registration Opens
Light Breakfast
8:00 am
Words of Welcome


Paul Davidson, President, Association of Universities & Colleges (AUCC)

 8:15 am
Opening Keynote Address

Robert O'Neil, Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Virginia

9:00 am

Governance of Private & Public Sector Relationships: Principles of Collaboration


Martha Crago, VP Research, Dalhousie University

Len Findlay, Chair of CAUT's Academic Freedom & Tenure Committee

Rose Goldstein, VP Research, McGill University

Heide Hackmann, Executive Director, International Social Science Council, Paris, France

Peter Warrian, Foundation Representative, Past Board Chair of Philanthropic Foundations of Canada

Jeffrey Simpson, Globe and Mail - Moderator

10:15 am

Light refreshments

10:45 am

Governance of the Balsillie School of International Affairs: A Three-Way Partnership


Peter MacKinnon, University of Saskatchewan

Jim Turk,  President, CAUT

Jeffery Simpson, Globe and Mail - Moderator

11:30 am

Keynote Address


Gary Rhoades, Professor & Director, Center for the Study of Higher Education, University of Arizona

12:15 pm

Lunch & Closing Remarks


John Hepburn,  VP Research, University of British Columbia

Max Blouw, President, Wilfrid Laurier University

Feridun Hamdullahpur, President, University of Waterloo