Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Leaf
December 19, 2014

Canadian Excellence

Government in Canada

Canada is a parliamentary democracy. Its a system of government where the three branches of Parliament the Governor General, the House of Commons and the Senate debate laws before they vote on them. These branches are composed of both elected (House of Commons) and appointed (Governor General, Senate) members.

Canada is also a federation, which means that the work of governing the country is shared by the federal and provincial or territorial governments. Federalism allows the government of a country as large and diverse as Canada to meet the common needs of all citizens, while also being able to serve the special interests and characteristics of the country's various regions and cultural and linguistic communities.