Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Laurier Brantford
October 1, 2014
 
 
Canadian Excellence

Behavioural Intervention Team


Wilfrid Laurier University - Brantford Campus

The Behavioural Intervention Team
Wilfrid Laurier University, Brantford Campus

The Behavioural Intervention Team (BIT) provides early caring prevention and intervention for students whose behaviour is concerning, disruptive, or threatening. Our goal is to reduce risk of harm for the student themselves and to the Laurier campus community. This is a multi-disciplinary team that works in a circle of care model. It is comprised of professionals from the Office of the Dean of Students, Special Constables Service, Wellness Centre, Residence Services, Academic Advising, and Accessible Learning.

BIT provides consultation and support to faculty, staff, and students in order to assist students who exhibit disruptive behaviours so that they may, with a plan of support and risk management in place, continue to pursue their academic endeavors. Not all students referred to BIT require an ongoing support plan. All students referred are offered resources.

When to Contact BIT

· If    If you receive or observe threatening or other concerning behaviour (email, verbal, written, etc…);

· If    If you observe or are the target of violence;

· If    If you feel uncertain about an individual’s behaviour on campus at any time;

· If    If you think a student may require a complex support plan to be successful.

If you are unsure, contact a BIT member to discuss your concern.

How to contact BIT

 Online reporting form

 By email: lbsecurity@wlu.ca

 Contact a Team Member (519)756-8228

· J     James Yuhasz, Manager Special Constables jyuhasz@wlu.ca x5733

· C    Christopher Eley, Manager Residence Life celey@wlu.ca x5856

· C    Cindy Wood, Manager Wellness Centre cwood@wlu.ca x5781 or 5803

· S    Sara Neziol, Manager Academic Advising sneziol@wlu.ca x5408

· A    Adam Lawrence, Dean of Students alawrence@wlu.ca x5644

· L     Laurie Fosty, Assistant to the Dean of Students lfosty@wlu.ca x5823


Behavioural Intervention Team (online reporting form)

This form should be used to report any concerning, disruptive, or threatening behaviour by an individual on campus.

Please note that this will be assessed by the Behavioural Intervention Team as quickly as possible, but it may take up to 2 business days. If this is an emergency, please call Special Constable Service at 519.756.8228 ext. 5888 or Brantford Police at 519.756.7050 or 9-1-1.