Wilfrid Laurier University Undergraduate Academic Calendar - 2013/2014
Canadian Excellence

University Community Relations

Director, University Community Relations: Jennifer Casey, BA, BEd, jcasey@wlu.ca, ext. 2149
Office Location: 202 Regina St., First Floor, Room 101

Residing within the Office of the President, the department serves an outreach role to the wider community and does so through the development of strategic relationships between Laurier and its various stakeholders. The department is comprised of four units: Ceremonies & Events; Laurier at the Hub;  the Toronto Office; and the Robert Langen Art Gallery.
Ceremonies & Events

Manager, Ceremonies & Events: Sondra Schwartz, BA, sschwartz@wlu.ca
Co-ordinator, Ceremonies & Events: Emily Middleton, BA, emiddleton@wlu.ca, ext. 3139
Office Location: 202 Regina St., First Floor, Rm. 101
Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

The Ceremonies & Events unit co-ordinates high level events to be hosted by the President, Chancellor, and other senior officials that are central to the strategic goals of the University. Such events include convocation, award ceremonies, recognition and appreciation events, community outreach, Board and other special events.

 
Laurier at the Hub

Outreach Leader, Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Megan Piticco, BA, mpiticco@wlu.ca
Office Location: Communitech Hub, The Tannery, 151 Charles Street W., Kitchener

Laurier is a founding academic partner of the Communitech Digital Media Hub, bringing together start-ups, industry, academic institutions, and service providers to put Canada at the forefront of digital media technology. It builds global companies by mentoring tenant start-ups, splicing innovation into enterprise partners, initiating strategic partnerships and helping big digital media ideas secure funding.

 
The Toronto Office

Manager, Administration & Marketing:  Matt Park, BA, mpark@wlu.ca
Office Location: The Exchange Tower-Main Floor, 130 King St. W., PO Box 286, TO M5X 1C9
Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Phone: 416-306-0866
Fax: 416-306-9973

The Toronto Office supports Laurier’s weekend-format MBA program, co-op work terms and employer partnerships, student recruitment, alumni relations, university development activities and government relations. The Toronto Office is one of the strategic directions the University has pursued in its effort to raise Laurier’s profile regionally, nationally and internationally.

 
The Robert Langen Art Gallery (RLAG)

Curator/Art Gallery Co-ordinator: Suzanne Luke, BFA, sluke@wlu.ca, ext. 3801
Location: Aird Building, Room 106
Hours of Operation
: Wednesday to Saturday, 12 noon to 5 pm (September to April)

The Robert Langen Art Gallery (RLAG) serves as the university’s visual arts centre and also exists to educate, promote creative thinking, encourage community dialogue and raise the awareness and appreciation of Canadian art and culture. The gallery, through the work of the curator, partners with members of the academic community to explore visual art by presenting exhibitions that reflect topics in the university’s academic curriculum.